.
Children's Cancer Foundation Over 30 years of caring service
Children's Palliative Care Foundation
Children's Palliative Care Foundation

Sunshine Kids

Sunshine Kids

Brain Buddies in the House!

Brain tumour is the second most common childhood cancer. The process of recovery is fraught with challenges as it affects wide-ranging aspects of the patients’ daily life to various extents, including physical health, emotions, academic studies, family life as well as interpersonal relationships. It is therefore our mission to strengthen our support services for child patients with brain tumour as well as their families. Since the launch of the “Standing with Brain Buddies” campaign in August 2016, we have met with a lot of brain tumour survivors and their family members through activities, discussing the challenges they faced and the support they needed to help us plan better services. Following rounds of preparation work, we staged “The Brain Tumour Club Launch Ceremony cum Educational Talk and Programme”, and officially started the Support Network on 3 March 2018.

 

The Support Network was named as 反斗奇Brain at the event. The name was given by Hoi Yan Kwan, a brain tumour survivor who received the highest number of votes in the naming competition. 反斗奇Brain alludes to the complexity of the human brain and symbolises the fortitude of the families fighting cancer are like the characters in the movie, Toy Story. We also invited Dr Andy Cheng, Associate Professor of the Department of Rehabilitation Services at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and Dr William Li, Associate Professor of the School of Nursing at The University of Hong Kong to share with us the role and application of sports and cognitive training in the rehabilitation of brain tumour patients. At the same time, child and youth patients of brain tumour took part in cognitive and recreational programmes. Everyone had fun at the event and it offered us helpful insights in the planning of our future services.

 

During the group sharing session, parents with children at different stages of cancer shared their stories through photos. Parents with a child at an early stage of treatment can learn more from other parents about what to expect in the later stage. “My child was just diagnosed with brain tumour. In fact I’m still clueless as to what will happen and what the therapy will entail… having heard about your experiences, I had a better understanding of what is to come…” The parent of an adult survivor also shared the anxiety and stress that has stayed with her for life. Participants in the group felt such mutual support is invaluable. “My child has already completed the therapy and entered university, but the residual tumour is like a time bomb for me. The worry has never left me. Only the people sharing the same experience will understand how hard it is to be at peace…”

 

A father expressed that he became more understanding towards his wife, learning to communicate and support her better, when their child was recovering from brain tumour. Other mothers also wished their husbands had heard this sharing, and planned to invite their spouse along in the next gathering. The parents cherished their time together, taking loads off their chest and getting strength and support from each other.

 

Now that “Brain Buddies” are established, let’s all encourage the fellow “buddies” and their families, cheering for them in solidarity on their road to recovery: “add oil”!

 

Reflections from a colleague

The one-day event ended in the blink of an eye. I watched the child patients and their parents get on the shuttle bus one by one, and waved them goodbye, still savouring the heart-warming memories of the day. Today I could feel what “the unbearable weight of being” means in all its profundity. A father said at the sharing, “One of us getting sick is like the three of us being sick all at once!” Ever since his son was diagnosed with brain tumour, the whole family has been living in great distress. Even though the therapy has ended, they still have to cope with one challenge after another. I wanted to see them off not because of their misfortune, but because of my admiration for their enduring love and not being beaten by “the unbearable weight of being”. It also reminded me this saying: “Viruses may rot our bodies, but love empowers us to walk on with pride!” The shuttle bus diminished at the distance. May all child patients and their families live on with our best wishes.

 

CCF Newsletter Vol.54 (Jul 2018)

.
儿童癌病基金 关爱同行逾三十载
儿童纾缓服务基金
儿童纾缓服务基金

阳光小子

阳光小子

「反斗奇Brain」来了

脑肿瘤是第二最常见的儿童癌症,对病童的身体、情绪、学习、家庭和人际关系等日常生活各方面带来不同程度的影响,令康复之路困难重重。我们因此致力希望加强对脑肿瘤病童和其家庭的支持服务。自2016年8月「脑友同行启航日」活动开始后,我们透过不同聚会与不少脑肿瘤的康复者及其家人,一起讨论面对的挑战及需要,构思服务,最后举办了筹备多时的「脑肿瘤同路人支持网络成立礼暨复康教育讲座及活动」,于2018年3月3日正式成立脑肿瘤同路人支持网络。

 

当天,我们公布支持网络的名称为「反斗奇Brain」。名称由康复者关恺殷构思,在命名比赛中得票最高,寓意复杂的脑袋,并寄语康复者与家人能像动画《反斗奇兵》中的主角般,坚强地克服难关。我们也邀请了香港理工大学康复治疗科学系副教授郑树基博士及香港大学医学院护理学院副教授李浩祥博士,分享运动和认知训练在脑肿瘤康复路上的角色及应用。在同一时段,脑肿瘤病童及青少年则参与认知训练及康体活动。参加者非常投入寓游戏于复康的体验,也为我们日后提供的服务方向及内容,注入了一支强心针。

 

午膳后的小组分享时间,孩子处于不同疾病阶段的家长透过图片分享彼此的经历。有家长的孩子刚开始接受治疗,在其他家长身上获得信息及方向:「孩子刚刚确诊,面对前路及即将来临的疗程,其实仍然感到很迷惘……听到你们的经验,较易明白前路将如何……」亦有已成年康复者的家长,分享那伴随一生的忧虑。在小组中大家都十分明白,这份支持甚是难得和宝贵。「我的孩子已经完成治疗,进了大学,但那残余的肿瘤彷如一个计时炸弹,总会让我提心吊胆,只有在这个有共同经历的社群,才有人明白我为何总是难以安心……」

 

活动中一位爸爸分享在孩子康复路上对太太更体谅、了解,也更懂得如何与她沟通,表达支持。好几位妈妈都希望丈夫听到这位爸爸的分享,并打算邀请他们出席下次活动。家长珍惜相聚分享的时间,可以减轻一点压在心头的重量,从彼此得到力量和支持。

 

「反斗奇Brain」成立后,希望大家一起为我们及病童家庭加油,与「奇兵」们在康复路上跨越障碍,携手同行!

 

同事感言

一天的活动瞬间就结束了,我带着依依不舍的心情,目送病童和家长缓缓步上旅游巴士,向他们挥手道别。与他们一起的这天,我体会到何谓「生命不能承受的重」。一位父亲在小组分享中说:「一个人病,等于三个人病!」自从儿子患上脑瘤,他和太太以至整个家庭都活在阴霾中。即使治疗结束,困难却接踵而来。然而我想送别他们,并不是因为他们的不幸,而是敬佩他们那份没有被「生命不能承受的重」击败的爱与坚持。我也想起这句话:「当病毒吞噬生命,是爱令人挺起不屈的脊梁!」旅游巴缓缓离开了。希望病童和家属也带着我们的祝福,回到他们的生活。

 

《童心》第五十四期(20187月)